Can a complete novice build this?

Moderators: David Martin, dave robinson, Iain Purdon, George Geddes

Can a complete novice build this?

Postby Stratstroker » Sat Mar 02, 2013 10:01 pm

Hi all,

I haven't been around on the site for a long time having moved house for my retirement and been busier than I was when I went to work, and I haven't done much guitar playing either, but since I checked in the other day I have been trying to get to the bottom of this eTap2HW business. The demos sound superb. I'm used to Dave Robbo's demos being excellent with virtually any gear he picks up but when other people's also sound authentic then I really sit up and take notice! Also, of course, Bojan always got a good sound from his VST plugin. Have you gone the hardware route Bojan?

I've got CS54 pups in American Strat (which is the correct colour as near as dammit!), Vox AC15 Heritage, Magicstomp with EFTP, Zoom RFX2000 with EFTP, but I do not get an authentic vintage Shads sound so it seems that this latest echo unit may be a big step forward.

So my question is "is it possible for a complete ham'fisted novice to build this following the supplied instructions?" There is a Maplin's not too far away and I am willing to give it a go if I have at least a reasonable chance of success. Or am I living in cloud cuckoo land?

If so I might have to fork out £186 to try the Catalinbread Echorec, wait for Charlie Hall's new unit or stick with the Magicstomp!

I would be most grateful for any advice even if it's "don't be bloody daft!"

Al.
Stratstroker

Re: Can a complete novice build this?

Postby dave robinson » Sat Mar 02, 2013 10:19 pm

Alan, if you have never done anything like this before I would wholeheartedly recommend asking Ecca to build it for you.