HELP!!!! eTap2hw valve automatic.....

It's the home for everything eTap2HW on ShadowMusic

Moderators: dave robinson, David Martin, Iain Purdon, George Geddes, ecca

Re: HELP!!!! eTap2hw valve automatic.....

Postby Strummer » Thu Jul 24, 2014 9:00 am

dave robinson wrote:My apologies to Phil, I just tried reversing the plug on the PSU and it does work. I must have been thinking of another piece of kit - sorry.
Arthur have you got the leads from echo to amp / guitar the right way round, I know it sounds obvious but I've done it myself. Also make sure the volume is cranked up, have you tested the leads individually into the amp and got a signal ?
Other than that you need to speak to Ecca. :idea:


Dave, I tried switching them about, but believe I had them right the first time around as I unplugged them from my Alesis Quadraverb GT2 and they are clearly marked up as is ecca's echo unit.

As I said in the above post of today I will "play" around with it more tomorrow, got the time y'see?
Strummer
 
Posts: 171
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2010 4:16 pm
Full Real Name: Arthur Howard

Re: HELP!!!! eTap2hw valve automatic.....

Postby ecca » Thu Jul 24, 2014 12:32 pm

Arthur, You got the wrong power supply. 12 volts DC will light it up but only 12 volts AC will make it work properly.
I've had it before. The HT can't be generated without AC.
User avatar
ecca
 
Posts: 3554
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2009 8:25 pm
Location: Finca de Pelsall
Full Real Name: Eric Blossom Thacker

Re: HELP!!!! eTap2hw valve automatic.....

Postby Strummer » Thu Jul 24, 2014 2:44 pm

Eric, will change the supply then? See what happens then 'eh?

Thanks Eric.

Arthur
Strummer
 
Posts: 171
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2010 4:16 pm
Full Real Name: Arthur Howard

Re: HELP!!!! eTap2hw valve automatic.....

Postby AlanMcKillop » Thu Jul 24, 2014 2:48 pm

Just gave mine a quick try out today and all is well.
User avatar
AlanMcKillop
 
Posts: 1150
Joined: Sat Sep 19, 2009 8:04 pm
Location: Motherwell, Lanarkshire
Full Real Name: Alan McKillop

Re: HELP!!!! eTap2hw valve automatic.....

Postby Strummer » Thu Jul 24, 2014 3:00 pm

ecca wrote:Arthur, You got the wrong power supply. 12 volts DC will light it up but only 12 volts AC will make it work properly.
I've had it before. The HT can't be generated without AC.


Eric,

Just been over the shop, and they are asking what the Ampage is so that the power supply is more for safety reasons....so what is the ampage that is needed for the Echo unit? I believe the power supply has to be more for safety reasons, doesn't it?
Strummer
 
Posts: 171
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2010 4:16 pm
Full Real Name: Arthur Howard

Re: HELP!!!! eTap2hw valve automatic.....

Postby AlanMcKillop » Thu Jul 24, 2014 3:47 pm

Check out this post from a while back, question answered.
viewtopic.php?f=72&t=9480
User avatar
AlanMcKillop
 
Posts: 1150
Joined: Sat Sep 19, 2009 8:04 pm
Location: Motherwell, Lanarkshire
Full Real Name: Alan McKillop

Re: HELP!!!! eTap2hw valve automatic.....

Postby keithmantle » Thu Jul 24, 2014 3:55 pm

Strummer wrote:
ecca wrote:Arthur, You got the wrong power supply. 12 volts DC will light it up but only 12 volts AC will make it work properly.
I've had it before. The HT can't be generated without AC.


Eric,

Just been over the shop, and they are asking what the Ampage is so that the power supply is more for safety reasons....so what is the ampage that is needed for the Echo unit? I believe the power supply has to be more for safety reasons, doesn't it?

Hi Arthur I told you in an earlier post it should be 12v AC, i use 1.6A from RS components (google)
User avatar
keithmantle
 
Posts: 1461
Joined: Mon Oct 26, 2009 5:26 pm
Location: Codsall South Staffordshire
Full Real Name: keith george mantle

Re: HELP!!!! eTap2hw valve automatic.....

Postby GuitarPhil » Thu Jul 24, 2014 7:01 pm

Hi Arthur,

This is the PSU that Ecca and I both use and recommend: It's a 12V AC, up to 1.6A maximum from RS

http://uk.rs-online.com/web/p/plug-in-power-supply/7300237/

The Eccamatic and similar designs using Ecca's circuit board will not, repeat not, work with a 'normal' DC supply.

Regards,

Phil.
User avatar
GuitarPhil
 
Posts: 257
Joined: Tue May 11, 2010 11:32 pm
Location: Northern Ireland
Full Real Name: Philip Hawthorne

Re: HELP!!!! eTap2hw valve automatic.....

Postby ecca » Sun Jul 27, 2014 12:49 pm

Incidentally, I have in the past converted 12VDC power supplies to 12 VAc by removing the rectification and smoothing components from it . The prerequisite to this obviously that it must be a good quality one with screws.
User avatar
ecca
 
Posts: 3554
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2009 8:25 pm
Location: Finca de Pelsall
Full Real Name: Eric Blossom Thacker

Re: HELP!!!! eTap2hw valve automatic.....

Postby dave robinson » Tue Jul 29, 2014 8:50 pm

Have you got this sorted out yet Arthur? :)
Dave Robinson
User avatar
dave robinson
 
Posts: 4586
Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 2:34 pm
Location: Sheffield
Full Real Name: David Robinson

PreviousNext

Return to eTap2HW Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Ads by Google
These advertisements are selected and placed by Google to assist with the cost of site maintenance.
ShadowMusic is not responsible for the content of external advertisements.