Help please with that sound

Loads of accumulated experience

Moderators: David Martin, dave robinson, Iain Purdon, George Geddes

Help please with that sound

Postby steelystrings » Sun Jan 10, 2010 3:22 pm

Hi
Any computer people out there who could help me with what I am doing wrong.

I have downloaded a VSThost program called "vsthost" and 3/4 plugins like eTAP2, vintage tape delay, echomania, etc. When called up they appear within the host program and seem to work eg the knobs and everything twiddles, but no alteration to the sound is made.
What am I doing wrong.

I am using XP pro.
2.2 gig processor, 2 gig memory,sound card is Sound Blaster Xfi Extreme Music.

Regards

Steve.
steelystrings

Re: Help please with that sound

Postby Martyn » Mon Jan 11, 2010 1:01 am

Hi Steve,
I may be wrong as I'm still relatively new to recording but with most VST plugins I've used in Cubase4LE and Audacity, they only affect the already recorded sound when applied afterwards rather than the live sound as you play it. In other words, I'll record my guitar lead track with no external effects such as my M/stomp echoes, so a dry unaffected signal, and afterwards apply the VST effects such as echo or reverb, equalisation etc.

I'm sure there must be a way to play live with the VST effects actively working so I can hear them as I play but haven't figured it out yet. Is that what you mean?
Sorry if it doesn't help.
Regards,
Martyn
Martyn

Full Real Name: Martyn Welch

Postby steelystrings » Mon Jan 11, 2010 3:31 pm

Hi Martyn
Yes you have it in one ! i am expecting to apply the plugin then play my guitar through the computer and get "that sound". Seems from what you say that's not how it works.
Thanks for replying to me I will have a go the way you have suggested and see what happens. It would be great tho' if you could do it the way I thought but then there would be no need for the expensive echo fx boxes would there ??

cheers,

Steve.
steelystrings