Amp for new Fender Strat

Anything to do with Fender, Burns and other guitars; also amps, effects units including eTap, plus any other music making accessories

Moderators: David Martin, dave robinson, Iain Purdon, George Geddes

Amp for new Fender Strat

Postby Rosemary » Sun May 30, 2010 11:16 am

We went to the guitar show today and I bought a new Fender Stratocaster (American Standard ).
At the moment I only have a very cheap portable amp using batteries so I can play it but will need to buy something better very soon.
We are terribly short of space and I won't be wanting to make a lot of noise either so wondered if anyone had any suggestions for a small-ish but high quality amp (Sorry I can't be more specific but this is all new territory. I only started learning the acoustic a couple of months ago but always wanted both for different types of music ).
Actually I have good speakers and an amp for music (CDs, computer etc. ) in the room with the guitars and keyboard but imagine that setup can't be used for a guitar? If it could, it would be great space saver.
Thanks.
Best wishes
Rosemary
Rosemary

Full Real Name: Rosemary Beattie

Re: Amp for new Fender Strat

Postby noelford » Sun May 30, 2010 12:19 pm

Hi Rosemary

I don't know which battery powered amp you are using but, in addition to the amps I use for gigging, I have a Roland Microcube RX which is absolutely brilliant for a small battery/mains amp and has enough oomph for a room/small hall, despite its minimal rated output. Complete with amp modeling and a range of effects, it's definitely recommended as a portable amp.

Cheers

Noel
noelford

Postby Rosemary » Sun May 30, 2010 1:05 pm

Thanks Noel
I'll check if they're available from the music shop in the city tomorrow.
Sounds like just the thing I need.
All the best
Rosemary
Rosemary

Postby AlanMcKillop » Sun May 30, 2010 2:21 pm